A Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas

3.5 Stars | Warning: There may be minor spoilers (a.k.a. Quotes).

Blurb

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Untitled-8a

Publishing Company: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Published on: 3rd of May 2016

Pages: 640 (Kindle edition)

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2

Get it on…

Amazon / Goodreads / B&N

Untitled-8My Review

I loved the prequel to A Court of Mist and Fury, so naturally, I had high hopes for this book. Before ACOMAF’s publication, I thought of all the amazing possibilities there were for this series, and find myself a little disappointed by the direction this book is headed in. However, I did enjoy reading this book.

The plot of this novel was not remarkable. The first quarter of the book is essentially stagnant and Feyre is melancholic most of the time. Feyre’s broken state came across really clear, perhaps too clear (it was emphasised so much), to the point where I almost lost interest in continuing the story. Thankfully, the pace picked up soon after that. Like Maas’ other books, there is wonderful action contained within these pages… but all of the action is near the end, making the last third of the book extremely action heavy, and the ending chaotic. There are also some twists, but none of them were really shocking.

Even though I talk about being really bored when Feyre got so detached, I still think that part is important, because it paves the steps for Feyre’s eventual rediscovery of her true self. This meaningful, well written character development is definitely what won me over.

As usual, the main cast of characters in this book is utterly amazing. By the end of the book, I pretty much became emotionally attached to Rhys, his gang, and Feyre. Their friendship chemistry is simply awesome and the occasional witty banter made me enjoy their exchanges.

Her eyes fell on the open threshold to the bedroom hallway, and she grimaced. “Why,” she said, “are Amren’s eyes there?”

Indeed, right above the door, in the center of the archway, I’d painted a pair of glowing silver eyes. “Because she’s always watching.”

Mor snorted. “That simply won’t do. Paint my eyes next to hers. So the males of this family will know we’re both watching them the next time they come up here to get drunk for a week straight.”

Each and everyone of Rhys’ gang has a hidden part of their personality that makes them interesting, three dimensional. More about Rhys himself is also revealed and it allowed me to empathize with him at a level I could not before. Another character I liked was Tarquin, and… I hope he survives the next book.

On the other hand, there were other characters who were poorly neglected. For example, Lucien’s fiery personality which I had loved so much in the first book is now nothing more than a few embers, a remnant of what he was before. It was super disappointing. Tamlin, who was also one of my favourite characters from Book 1 just became nothing more than a flat character who had an overwhelming obsession with protection (his “wry humour” has all but disappeared). A lot of characters were sort of… trampled upon just to make way for the main gang.

Velaris was a lovely setting. I’d love to visit Velaris if it existed. *Sigh*, the troubles of a reader.

The Rainbow of Velaris glowed like a fistful of jewels, as if the paint they used on their houses came alive in the moonlight.

In general, the night court proved to be more complex than the spring court and thus, it captivated me a lot more easily. Outside of Velaris, there are also tribes of Illyrians. The traditions of the Illyrians were really interesting. Although the traditions are brutal and unjust (clipping their wings is just cruel beyond measure), it did show me another side to this world.

Before the events in A Court of Thorns and Roses, there was a war between the King of Hybern and the courts of Prythian. The characters who had a part in this war were often mentioned, and I really wanted to know more about them but it was not talked about much in ACOMAF. Hopefully, more parts of that particular story will be revealed in the next instalment since the war sounded pretty epic. In all seriousness though, a brief but informative history would make ACOTAR’s world much more believable.

Finally, the romance. The romantic arc in this book was a little frustrating. So much attention was placed upon the romance, that some attention was taken away from the plot, which is equally important. Also, why does Maas mess with my shipper heart all the time. In this book, my favoured ship sunk, but it’s ok, because I also love the ship that did survive. The romance between Feyre and her love interest is developed in a way that is simply beautiful. But let’s be honest here, all of the possible love interests for Feyre are 100% hot and also awesome.

And he’d be here during the summer, flying over the meadow, chasing me across the little streams and up the sloped, grassy mountainside. He would sit with me under the stars, feeding me fat summer berries. And he would be at that table in the town house, roaring with laughter— never again cold and cruel and solemn.

The romantic arc is a little similar to the overarching romantic arc in Heir of Fire and Queen of Shadows, so if you didn’t like the romance in those books, you might not like it in this book. Nonetheless, I do urge you to try out this book though, because there are definitely some great parts. 🙂

tumblr_nx4o396vf71sx57tdo1_1280

Untitled-8a

4 thoughts on “A Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury, by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I had fairly similar reactions, though I actually thought this book has more plot than ACOTAR, so it was better in that regard. But I agree that Lucien was basically ignored and was flat when he showed up, and Tamlin kind of got thrown under the bus for plot development. get that he was a little overprotective previously, but I really don’t think that was enough to foreshadow the abuse/evil deeds he gets up to here. It seems like what Tamlin and Feyre went through for each other was just completely disregarded in the interests of making this new book more exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! Although I do love the sweet relationship between Feyre and Rhysand, I definitely felt as if what Tamlin and Feyre had before was disregarded, and as a reader, I felt shocked. I also agree about the foreshadowing which is why I’m a bit disappointed in the direction of the series. 🙂 Personally though, I felt like both books had plots that were not spectacular, and both stories were awkwardly action packed at the end. I guess I just have high expectations for plotlines haha. 😛

      Like

      1. Oh, yeah. I’m all about Rhysand, but I still feel a little bad Tamlin just got tossed away like that! It was really unexpected since ACOTAR seemed to keep emphasizing “look at how much they love each other; look at what they’re willing to endure for their love!” How could that have meant nothing?

        I completely agree that ACOTAR had basically no action until Feyre went Under the Mountain. It was really odd for the pacing.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I feel a little upset that Tamlin was put aside too. I was so convinced at the end of ACOTAR that the relationship between Tamlin and Feyre was sustainable because ACOTAR was mostly focused on their romance and everything, but then ACOMAF came along haha. Personally, I don’t think that the relationship between Tamlin and Feyre became meaningless, per se. Instead, I feel like Maas has reflected a negative light on the meaning of their relationship to emphasise the importance of things such as communication in relationships, and also to make the relationship between Rhysand and Feyre to seem much more, for want of a better word, justified. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

