A Book Review: The Dark Days Club, by Alison Goodman

The Dark Days Club, by Alison Goodman

★★★☆☆

BLURB

London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

Untitled-8a

Published on: 26th of January, 2016

Publishing Company: Viking Books for Young Readers

Pages: 482 (Hardcover)

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Untitled-8

Looks like I’m part of the small minority who did not like this book that much. Honestly, I’m surprised I didn’t like this book. I really enjoyed reading Alison Goodman’s Eon Series, and the blurb of this book also sounded promising, so naturally, I expected to love this book. I did not love this book, and I was not impressed by the ending.

not impressed

I have to say though, this book isn’t bad. It definitely doesn’t make my list of worst books read in 2016. There were quite a few things I did like about this story, e.g. the setting of the story.

There is a lot of interesting detail incorporated in the novel about the Regency Era, i.e. the era this book was set in. I really liked the amount of detail that Goodman went into. It helped me to understand the circumstances of this story and the attitudes/thoughts of the characters in this story, especially as I’m not familiar with Britain’s aristocratic society. For me, this detailed introduction into the story actually made up for the lack of action at the beginning.

I do have to complain a little about the pacing though. The actual plot does not truly start until about the middle of the story. It’s a bit unusual, but this was not on of the problems that made me dislike this story more than the Eon Series.

The concept of reclaimers certainly sounds sophisticated. There are many latin words such as “lusus naturae” that are casually thrown in. However, if you look at it simply, a reclaimer (a person who deal with the demons/deceivers) is just another type of guardian who protects humanity from the deceivers (the demons) who also live among the population. This part of the concept isn’t all that original. What was original however, was the actual act of “reclaiming”, how the reclaimers actually save people who have some sort of connection with a demon.

In the story, there is also this character who is Helen’s uncle’s second cousin. After reading this book, I suspect that this character is supposed to be Helen’s love interest, but I really cannot bring myself to ship them. There is also another character who is after Helen’s heart, which means that there is also a love triangle which I think that this book could do without.

Goodman achieves fantastic character development in the form of Helen. I was so glad when I saw this development, because my goodness, for four fifths of the book, she was pretty annoying. I didn’t consider her a coward, but she carried out some rather foolish acts that made me so frustrated. I have a feeling that I’ll like her character more in the next book due to the last-minute character development.

annoyed

A lot of people have praised the ending of this book, but I did not find it spectacular. I had some predictions about how the book would end, and some of them was correct, which made me feel sadly let down because I was prepared to be shocked.

tumblr_nx4o396vf71sx57tdo1_1280

Untitled-8a

3 thoughts on “A Book Review: The Dark Days Club, by Alison Goodman

What are your thoughts?

