A Book Review: Omnilogos – Extended Edition, by Michele Amitrani

Omnilogos – Extended Edition, by Michele Amitrani

★★★☆☆

BLURB

“I am a collector of hopes and peregrine truths, a shepherd of thoughts, ideas, projects and dreams too important not to be realized. I’m an abstract concept that has no body, no smell, no boundaries, no shape and no color. I am the Omnilogos.”

 

So it is forged, a Science Fiction saga that gave birth to a legend, a tale about the life of a man with one project that will change mankind’s future forever. Ten stories about his life, his sorrow, and his quest to gather the resources and the people needed to claim our place among the stars.

 

This is Wei’s story.

 

This is the world of the Omnilogos.

Untitled-8a

Published by: Michele Amitrani

Published on: September 16, 2015

Genre: Science fiction

Pages: (around) 250 pages

Series: Omnilogos series #1

Find it on…

Amazon / Goodreads / B&N

Untitled-8

Omnilogos was an interesting read. Even though I had read the blurb, I still wasn’t quite sure what to expect. But I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this!

This is a story that takes place over several years. There is a chapter or two for each period (the number of years between the periods can vary). At first, these constant jumps were a little confusing, because I couldn’t see the cohesive link between the affairs that happened in each period. Often, new characters are introduced and it was hard to tell where they fit into the story (I did figure this out eventually when they reappeared later in the story). However, I did get more used to it after a while, and it proved to be a very intriguing style of narration. I loved seeing how all of these affairs fit together in the over arching story line.

On the other hand, I do think that each period could be better explored and that the setting could be developed a little bit better. The plot and the action were both spectacular, but as a reader, I felt that at times, I was lacking context which is something which would have helped me understand the entire story in more depth.

The characters in Omnilogos were very very interesting. Especially Wei, who is coined as the next Einstein. In the first part of the book, his personality and intelligence really clashed with society’s vision of a child/teenager and I loved this clash. I’ve always thought that children/teenagers should not be underestimated, and Wei clearly shows why. I also loved Evangeline. She provided a refreshing contrast to Wei’s character. The other characters also have their own quirks and they seem very three dimensional.

This was a wonderful read and although I didn’t quite connect with the story myself, I recommend this book to people who love reading science fiction!!

tumblr_nx4o396vf71sx57tdo1_1280

Untitled-8a

A big thank you to the author for providing this book in exchange for an honest review. 

What are your thoughts?

