A Book Review: Glass Sword, by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword, by Victoria Aveyard

2 Stars


Blurb

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?



Publishing Company: 
Harperteen

Publication Date: February 9th 2016

Pages: 448 (Hardcover)

Series: Red Queen #2

Source: Thank you to Chandini for letting me borrow this book!

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Untitled-8

I approached Glass Sword with some trepidation, as I did not find Red Queen remarkably spectacular. I thought the concept of red blooded people and silver blooded people was not that original (as it was similar to other books I had read before), but I was interested in the world in which the story took place, so I decided to try the book out.

Even though I was hoping for a bit more information about the setting of the story, I did not get much new knowledge about the world. That was because Glass Sword focuses a lot on the plot and the action. Also, the characters did have to stay away from the cities in Norta, so the lack of new knowledge about Norta is understandable. However, I did expect their to be some differences between the people of Norta and the people from the Lakelands in terms of culture, but there were no cultural differences. There were no change in accents (were there even different languages?), no difference in beliefs, no difference in military strategical beliefs… the list goes on. Needless to say, I was disappointed.

Also, I could see that there was character development, but this was limited to a few characters. I did see slight character development in Cal due to his circumstances. I would like to think that Mare became wiser about the events in the first book, but in my opinion, she should not choose a political or military career if she was in our universe… or any other universe really.

But I am the lightning girl, and he knows nothing of true power.

The quote above evidently shows that Mare still thinks that she is astoundingly powerful. The amount of power she has is more or less a subjective opinion. Sure, Mare is a red who has a different power, but it does not automatically mean that her character is more powerful than 99% of the beings in the novel with powers, or that Mare’s power is the “true” power (she loves to talking about how her lightning is “true” power, *facepalm*). As Mare unfortunately finds out, there are still ways which she can be brought to her knees, regardless of the “true” power she has. Her repetition of these sort of statements that emphasise her “power” makes me think that they’re all supposed to be those epic one-liners, but to me, it was just unnecessary, irritating big talk that just fell flat.

And this quote:

Everyone will be armed, with their ability and whatever else they choose. I myself want nothing but my lightning…

Um, Mare, you’re going into a prison that was made to contain people like you, a prison that has silent stone…………………… and you want nothing to defend yourself?!

Try as he might, Cal never had a head for laws and politics. That was Maven’s domain, always Maven’s.

Personally, I felt that the author’s emphasis on the brother’s differences in expertise was a little too strong. It’s definitely good to know more about the brothers’ dissimilar way of thinking, but I do think that it’s more realistic if each brother had at least a little bit of knowledge in the area they are not that good at. I definitely expect Cal to know his country’s laws, especially as he was supposed to be the king.

One thing that I thought was spectacular, was the ending of the book. That was fabulous. Period.

All in all, I did not get on well with this book. It just wasn’t for me, as I knew plenty of people who really enjoyed this story.

Untitled-8a

tumblr_nx4o396vf71sx57tdo1_1280

 

What are your thoughts?

