A Book Review: The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch

The Lies of Locke Lamora, by Scott Lynch

4.5 Stars


The Lies of Locke Lamora was an intense read that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I was amazed at the plots that Locke was able to pull off. The beginning was a bit too slow for my taste, and this caused me to put down this book and “postpone” it. A few days ago, I picked it up again and I am very glad that I did this.

One of the things I loved about this book was how certain things weren’t directly revealed. Instead of that, you either had to spot the clues and figure it out yourself… or read until workings of the schemes are disclosed. I could tell that Lynch put a lot of thought into the sequence of his chapters. They are ordered in a way that benefits his method of not directly revealing everything, and this was one of the things that kept me so mesmerised with the book.

The plot of this story was masterfully constructed. The interesting little schemes that Locke and his friends pulled off contributed to the main, comprehensive storyline. In the middle of the book, I couldn’t figure out how all of it fit into the overall plot, and when I figured it out, I was honestly in awe. The setting was also very well developed. The biggest information I gathered about the setting from the entire book was that Camorr is messed up. Seriously messed up. The elaboration on the Saints that the people of Camorr believed in also helped me to understand the place and the characters better.

I liked Locke’s character. Like many other heroes, Locke has his flaws. These flaws do make him a realistic and believable main character. He can also be quite an a$$@*#^ sometimes. However, as you sift through the layers of his complex personality, you will find that Locke is undeniably loyal to his friends. Not only is he loyal to the Gentlemen Bastards, but he truly does consider them to be his own brothers.

“Jean,” said Locke, “you are a greater friend than I ever could have imagined before I met you; I owe you my life too many times over to count. I would rather be dead myself than lose you. Not just because you’re all I have left.”

Aww.

One thing I wish that this book mentioned more is Sabetha. Sabetha has an intriguing relationship with Locke, and I really wanted to see some interaction between them. Of course, that did not happen. Throughout the entire book, Sabetha is absent for an unknown reason.

Apart from that, Lynch’s writing style bothered me a little. Although I can’t exactly place my finger on what I was bothered about.


Find it on…

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes & Noble


Capture_converted

What are your thoughts?

