Top 10 Books of 2014

According to my reading target of 2014 on Goodreads, I’ve read about 100 books this year. As always, I’ve encountered some amazing novels, and some books that I didn’t like so much. However, there were 10 books that I really really loved and I think everyone should try reading. That’s why I’ve decided to share with you my version of the Top 10 books of 2014:

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee:

When this book was first recommended to me, I didn’t really want to read it. However, my friends started telling me to read it, and I’m really thankful they did. To Kill a Mockingbird is AMAZING. From the very first chapter, I was hooked. 

2. The Queen’s Thief Series, by Megan Whalen Turner:

I actually had this series on my to read lists for a while. Having so many books to go through, it took me a while to start reading this series. But WOW, I was blown away by Ms Turner’s novels. The plots and twists in these books are so well hidden, you’ll never see them coming.

3. A Game of Thrones, by George R. R. Martin:

This book made it to position #3 on my list, because the world Mr Martin has created is astounding. Not long after I started reading this book, it became glued to my hands. 

4. All the Light we Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr:

This is officially one of the most depressing world war II book I have ever read (but it is gooooood). 😥 

5. Red Rising, by Pierce Brown:

Action packed, and completely fascinating. Mr Brown creates a very interesting world. 

6. Cress, by Marissa Meyer:

Wonderful take on Rapunzel. I’ve always loved this series and this book is the best in its series so far. 

7. Jellicoe Road, by Melina Marchetta:

Two words- EMOTIONAL TURMOIL 

8. The Cuckoo’s Calling, by Robert Galbraith:

Lovely mystery, and lovable characters. Got me hooked from the beginning to the end. 

9. The Rook, by Daniel O’Malley:

To be honest, I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I do now. This book was very intriguing. 

10. The Blood of Olympus, by Rick Riordan:

I grew up with this series. How could the last book in the Heroes of Olympus not make it onto this list? 😉 This book was an exciting end to an awesome series. Kudos, Mr Riordan. 

2014 has been a wonderful year. Of course, these 10 books aren’t the only great books of 2014. For example, I’ve read classic books like The Great Gatsby. That book is the Top 11th I’ve read this year. I’m sure all of you guys will have different opinions on this. If you have any book recommendations for me, please post them in the comments!

Cheers,

Kellie 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of 2014

    1. Hahha, that happened to me once when I was younger. I read the first page of TKAM and then I put it back on the shelf. But so many people insisted I read it, so I picked it up again this year and loved it. I don’t know, I have a unpredictable taste in books 🙂

      Like

      1. That happens to me too. A year ago I tried reading I Am The Messenger and I couldn’t finish it…then picked it up this year and I loved every single page 😛

        Like

What are your thoughts?

