A Book Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, by Holly Black

The Coldest Girl in Coldtownby Holly Black

4 Stars


The Coldest Girl in Coldtown was a superb story (that was filled with really cool vampires). The story was fresh, innovative and creative. I’ve always kind of liked the Vampiric twists in stories, and the author of this book- Holly Black takes the concept of Vampirism to a completely new (and of course, awesome)  level.

First off, all of the characters were interesting. A character I though that was really interesting and round was Midnight (slash Jenny). Her attitude towards Vampirism was very realistic, and I can actually imagine people who would warm up to the idea of turning in a Vampire. I found Pearl really innocent and naive at the same time. I thought these attributes really suited her character, and even made her seem more like a person I would encounter in daily life. I was a bit perplexed about Tana though. At times, Tana was could be extraordinarily smart, and she has the ability figure the solution to a lot of problems. However, at times, she isn’t always able to get her smart wits together (she has even commented on that herself). I feel as if Holly Black makes Tana’s personality a bit inconsistent. All in all,  most of the characters in this book were unique and great!

I liked the setting. Coldtown seems like a really diverse place, with both loyal, trustworthy people and people who would back-stab their friends regardless of their history. When it was first introduced, Coldtown was almost like any other place. But what made it really cool, was the vampiric twist and how people could enter but not leave, etc. It was creepy, but that was exactly what captured my interest the whole time during the book.

What made me really like it was the surprise at the end. (Spoiler!) As in who was really the spider??? I actually didn’t suspect that Gavriel had to kill the spider to live. I actually thought that Gavriel just managed to escape by using his wits and intelligence or some hidden skill. I really really really liked that twist. Hats off to you, Ms. Black! If you want to know what the surprise is, go read it!!! *wink*

Overall, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown was a really great book, and I think that everybody should give it a try!


Find it on

Goodreads

Amazon

Barnes & Noble


Next review will be on Ruin and Rising

What are your thoughts?

